On Friday I completed my first full official week of school
at USFQ. It was an adventure. I changed my schedule around basically daily
until the last day possible (Friday) but I think I’ve got it down. I’m taking
an archeology class which I’ve become super excited about. I’ve realized that
archeology is like a mixture of anthropology, history, and digging in the dirt
except way more sophisticated and it’s awesome. I don’t know why it never hit
me before. Archeology is super cool. I’m also in a weaving class which is
great. The first class I was on it and thought I was a pro (except for the fact
that I almost made a friend but didn’t have any of the right materials so had
to borrow all of hers so now I’m afraid she thinks I’m dumb). The second class I
went in certain of my abilities, spent an hour trying a new technique, realized
I did it all wrong, and had to undo it. At the very end of class I finally
asked the prof for help and she weaved basically as much as I had during the
previous hour in about three minutes. I guess I’m not as natural of a weaver as
I thought.
![]() |
| Doing homework on the terrace! It was windy. |
Other fun things that happened this week: I was asked for
directions on like my third day of school, so like a pro I took out my map of
campus and gave some spot on fantastic directions; I sat in the sun because who
doesn’t; drank black coffee with sugar (aka no milk) because I’m becoming
hardcore; took the wrong bus again but this time it was dark and I had to try
flagging down a taxi in the dark for like 30min (I looked like such an extranjera
with my backpack and worried face); celebrated the birthdays of the beautiful
Marcela and Megan (two women I am so grateful to know and share this adventure
with—love you both! <3).
![]() |
| Birthday Marcy! |
![]() |
| Birthday Megan! |
![]() |
| Birthdays are fun |
Last night we had a sleepover at my house. Megan and I went
grocery shopping at the MegaMaxi which was like an entire adventure in itself.
They aren’t kidding when they say Mega. It was huge
and looked like something
out of a sci-fi movie. Instead of an escalator or stairs, you rose to the
grocery store section on a sloped conveyor belt. Once we were in the grocery
store it was like a people-filled maze. We wandered around the isles with an
oversized cart dodging other carts and weaving through crowds. At one point I almost
died when an employee with a giant cart of boxes was booking it down the aisle
but I kept my cool and calmly swerved to the side as if I did it every day and
averted certain collision. We got home, the whole groups trickled in, when made
a feast, ate some cookies, chatted and gossiped and told our life stories (the
best part of sleepovers), and went to sleep only to wake up at 7am this morning
to make out way to the Teleférico.
![]() |
| Sleepover muchies |
![]() |
| trekking |
The Teleférico is a ski-lift/tram type thing/gondola lift
that goes up Pichincha Volcano. Fun fact: it is one of the highest aerial lifts
in the world, rising from 10,226ft to 12,943ft in about eight minutes. My ears
were popping and walking up hills at the top was super difficult, but it was
super worth it. The views from the top were beautiful. We looked down at Quito,
speckled buildings, the mountains, and could see the crescent shape of the
city. The morning was beautiful: an almost unreal blue sky dotted with
creamy-white clouds, a little bit of wind but not too much.
![]() |
| Selfie with Marcy |
![]() |
| we are excited llama friend is not (photocred Nadia Torres!) |
We took pictures of
us jumping and pictures of us trying to jump. We made a llama friend and took
pictures with him (he wasn’t really into it). We took pictures of each other
taking pictures. We stared at the city. We laughed. We drank coffee. We rode
back down the volcano. Then we went on a really long walking trek to find food.
We walked down a steep hill (like super steep) for like 20min. We finally got
to the bottom and realized we still didn’t know where to go. We looked at the
map, figured out which way was north, and got on a bus. We later got off the
bus where we were supposed to and walked for another probably 40min and finally
found a place to eat. It was an exhausting walk and it was a magnificent walk. We
basically fell asleep at our table while waiting for food. The food was so
delicious but we were so hungry that no one got a picture. I got home in the
afternoon and took a two hour nap. I spent my evening eating dinner and talking
with my host mom/mamagramma about the difficulties of life, how those
difficulties make you stronger, about the strong winds, about the puppies
running around on the roof, about traveling, about traveling to Portland
together (fingers crossed!), about how there’s nothing on TV on Sundays, about
our families. Then we drank warm milk with sugar. Now I’m watching Ecuador Tiene Talento. It is Sunday after all.
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)

.jpg)
No comments:
Post a Comment